Tags

, ,

As part of the research going into the Tuatha Dé novels, I have been scouring for the gods in various mythologies. The Greeks in particular amaze me. There are gods for absolutely everything it seems. There are gods for every finger, a god for door-hinges and a different god for the threshold of a door. There is a god for effeminate men, a malevolent spirit that smashes pottery (which is not to be confused with the spirit that shatters pottery, or the spirit that destroys pottery), a goddess of morning dew, and one who grants the baby his or her first cry, and several gods that must be invoked before felling a tree. Keeping track of all the gods to invoke for every activity in the day must have been complicated.

Still, I think my favorite god is still Janus, the two-headed god of doors, presiding over beginnings and endings. I like the duality of him. I like the understanding that leaving one room is entering another, the acknowledgement that each ending begins something else.

