Tags

, , , , ,

I recall a lot of authors grumping about the cover art for their books. I recall Mike Resnick being annoyed that one of his books got slapped with a cover of some sort of satellite floating in a starscape when the closest the characters ever got to space in the book was taking an elevator to the 20th floor of a building.

I hadn’t really thought about it until spotting this compilation of terrible novel covers, but I guess part of the advantage to self-publishing would be that the author can create a cover that isn’t totally misleading about what the book is about. Then again, I suppose that misleading novel covers can be a strategy for boosting sales, but it seems like those that get duped might be irritated about it afterwards.

What are your thoughts on cover art for traditional publishing vs. self-publishing? Or do you have some more examples of terrible cover art to share?

